Service Description

PEI has seven hospitals offering varying levels of care.

The two main referral hospitals providing inpatient, emergency, urgent psychiatric care, outpatient, community and specialty services are:
  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Charlottetown
  • Prince County Hospital, Summerside
People in need of urgent psychiatric care can go to the Emergency Room at Queen Elizabeth and Prince County Hospitals. They will be triaged and then see trained mental health staff.

Four community hospitals offer a variety of services that may include acute care, extended care, and community based services:
  • Souris Hospital, Souris
  • Kings County Memorial Hospital, Montague
  • Community Hospital, O'Leary
  • Western Hospital, Alberton
One inpatient psychiatric hospital for specialized acute and long-term treatment and rehabilitation:
  • Hillsborough Hospital, Charlottetown


Open to all
No fees for most services for anyone with a PEI or other Canadian provincial health card
How to Access:
Most hospital services are by appointment or require a referral or requisition form * For emergencies or urgent care, no referral is required
Documents Required:
PEI Health Card or other provincial health card issued in Canada
Program Hours:
See individual hospital's site information for details about emergency or urgent care department hours and general administrative hours
English * Interpretation services are available for those who do not speak English
Coverage Area:
Prince Edward Island

Service Locations & Contact Info